History & Features


Established in 1952, National Taipei University (NTPU) College of Law is one of Taiwan’s oldest and most prestigious law schools.

Located in the financial district of Taipei City, it was first established as the Department of Judicial Administration at the Taiwan Provincial College of Administration after World War II. Subsequently, in 1955, it was transformed into the Department of Law under the Taiwan Provincial College of Law and Business. In 1961, the Taiwan Provincial College of Law and Business merged with the National Chung-Hsing University while maintaining its campus in the center of Taipei City.

In 2000, the College of Law and Business dissociated itself from the National Chung-Hsing University. It collaborated with other new-established colleges to become the National Taipei University, with campuses in both Taipei City and New Taipei City. Following the reorganization, elevation of its status, and establishment of the Graduate Institute, NTPU College of Law became one of the legal colleges in Taiwan with a long-standing history and the largest faculty and student body.


Our Features

The best scholars and practitioners teach our students in Taiwan, which is one of the country’s largest faculty bodies among law schools.

Our faculty and staff put effort into each student’s learning and development through strong academic and personal support, including mentorship, study groups, and networking, which emphasize helping students find the area of law best suited to their interests.

Our alums are leaders in every field of the legal profession, including Justices in the Constitutional Courts, Chief Judges in District and High Courts, and the Supreme Court.

By providing courses and externship/internship opportunities in public service and courts, we train lawyers to pursue legal careers in public service and human rights practices.

Copyright © 2020 National Taipei University Department of Law

  Site MapChinese | National Taipei University